Skip to main content

Health Workforce Initiative

Statewide Director

John Cordova, BS, RN 
College of the Canyons
26455 Rockwell Canyon Road
Santa Clarita, CA 91355
Phone: (562) 505-4409
Email: John.Cordova@canyons.edu

Regional Director(s) Employer Engagement

Far North HWI
Trudy Old
Butte College Skyway Center
2480 Notre Dame Blvd.
Chico, CA 95928
Phone: (530) 879-9049
Email: OldTr@Butte.edu

North HWI
Julie Holt, RN, MSN, CPNP
Sacramento City College
3835 Freeport Blvd.
Sacramento, CA 95822
Phone: (916) 650-2767
Email: holtj@scc.losrios.edu

Bay Area I HWI
Nanette Solvason, PhD
DeAnza College 
21250 Stevens Creek Blvd.
Cupertino, CA 95014
Phone: (650) 440-2890
Email: solvasonnanette@fhda.edu

Bay Area II HWI
Dayo Diggs, EdD
Canada College 
4200 Farm Hill Blvd.
Redwood, CA 94061
Phone: TBA
Email: TBA

Central HWI
Valerie Fisher, MA, RN
College of the Sequoias
Hospital Rock #106
915 S. Mooney Blvd.
Visalia, CA 93277
Phone: (559) 737-6252
Email: ValerieF@cos.edu

South Central Coast HWI
Irene Ornelas, MSW, LCSW
College of the Canyons
26455 Rockwell Canyon Road
Santa Clarita, CA 91355
Phone: (805) 372-1712
Email: irene.ornelas@canyons.edu

Desert/Inland Empire HWI
Wendy Deras, MS, RN, CNE, CNS/PMH, CDP
College of the Desert
43500 Monterey Avenue, 
Palm Desert CA 92260 
Phone: (760) 636-7945 
Email: wederas@collegeofthedesert.edu

Los Angeles I HWI
Shari Herzfeld, MN, RN
Rio Hondo College 
3600 Workman Mill Road
Whittier, CA  90601-1699
Phone: (562) 463-7004
Email: SHerzfeld@riohondo.edu

Los Angeles II HWI
Ozzie Lopez, MPA
Mt. San Antonio College 
1100 N. Grand Ave.
Walnut, CA  91789
Phone: (323) 691-6086
Email: olopez63@mtsac.edu

Orange HWI
Laurie Sienkiewicz, DNP, RN
Golden West College
15744 Golden West Street
P.O. Box 2748
Huntington Beach, CA 92647-2748
Phone: (714) 895-8975 
Email: LSienkiewicz@gwc.cccd.edu

San Diego/Imperial HWI
Connie Lafuente, MPH
Grossmont College 
8800 Grossmont College Drive
El Cajon, CA 92020 
Phone:(619) 279-1371
Email: connie.lafuente@gcccd.edu

 

(Formerly known as Deputy Sector Navigators)